MEET UOFSHEALTHPSYCH: INTERVIEW WITH MICHAEL SU

Standard

Mike Su returned to The University of Scranton for a degree in Psychology after several other pursuits, which he explains here. He worked as the coordinator for Project Connect, which is wrapping up next week.

UofSHealth Psych: Where do you call home?

MS: Clarks Summit, PA

UofSHealth Psych: Where were you before you came back for your current degree?

MS: For my education, I attended the College of the Holy Cross, the University of Pennsylvania, Hahnemann Medical School, St. Johns College Annapolis, and Fordham University School of Law.

UofSHealth Psych: So you’ve have had the chance to live in many different places. Where is the best place you’ve lived so far?

MS: 52nd and 10th, NYC. To me, there’s a logical order to living in cities. NYC is the pinnacle.

UofSHealth Psych: What made you come back to college to pursue another Bachelor’s degree?

MS: I was teaching at prep schools and realized I could never teach what I thought the kids should learn. It’s hard being in a field where your results don’t manifest until 10 to 20 years later. So a kid complaining about a class today is irrelevant to me, since the duty I owe is to the 35 year old version of that kid. The money is terrible, too. And the legal profession can be soul sucking. I started a not for profit, which relies on counseling skills to affect change. Doing so required my pursuing either a clinical grad degree or a medical degree (either in psychiatry or primary care).

UofSHealth Psych: What do you like to do in your free time?

MS: I love experiencing something new and different. If I have to say a favorite hobby, it’s reading. I try to read two books a week. But name a hobby and I probably am part of a group. Spelunking, beekeeping, whatever.

UofSHealth Psych: What’s your favorite class that you’ve taken at U of S?

MS: Behavioral Neuroscience with Dr. Cannon.

UofSHealth Psych: Have you ever had the chance to work with professors outside of this lab?

MS: Other than working with Dr. Arigo, I worked with Dr. Cannon as a TA and RA. I strongly recommend approaching professors after class, get to establish a relationship with someone who does work in what you’re interested in, and get involved.

UofSHealth Psych: What made you choose to get involved in a health psychology research lab?

MS: My not for profit is centered around changing health behaviors. What Dr. Arigo does in terms of promoting healthy eating and exercise is closely linked to what I want to do.

UofSHealth Psych: What is your favorite project that you have worked on in health psych lab? 

MS: The best part was implementing Project Connect. I got to see the practical daily realities of implementing an idea.

UofSHealth Psych: What are your research interests/future direction for projects?

MS: I want to pursue research on obesity, more of the neuroscience/endocrinology of it and the link to the inflammation cascade, and looking for a biomarker to replace BMI.

UofSHealth Psych: Do you think your involvement will complement your future career?

MS: Yes. This opportunity gave me the chance to see how an idea becomes reality.

Leave a Reply

