CHASE Lab at SBM 2024

Standard

The Society of Behavioral Medicine is our primary professional network and its annual meeting and scientific sessions is a highlight of each year. (If you’re not familiar, learn all about SBM and the field of behavioral medicine in this video series! Trainees welcome!)

It was wonderful to see everyone in Philadelphia March 13th-16th! Here is a full list of our presentations and events at the conference. See below for our team’s reflections on this experience.

@RowanCHASELab
@DrDaniArigo
drarigo.wordpress. com
TitleAuthorsType/LocationDate / Time
SBM New Member and First-Time Attendee Meet and GreetArigo, D. (Host)Salon DWednesday, March 13, 5:00 PM-5:50 PM
Physical Activity Research Participation Effects: A 2-Part Experimental Study to Isolate the Role of Researcher ObservationPasko, K., Baga, K., Harsora, R., Gular, S., Edwards, K., König, L., & Arigo, D.Poster Session A, Poster Number: A154Wednesday, March 13, 5:00 PM-5:50 PM
Associations between Social Media Use, Mindfulness, and Social Comparison Orientation among College StudentsGular, S., Danielle. P., Harsora. R., Salvatore G.M., Fizur, P., & Arigo, D.Poster Session B, Poster Number: B175Thursday, March 14, 11:00 AM-11:50 AM
Theories and Techniques of Behavior Change Interventions SIG Mid-Career Award, for “an impressive trajectory of publication, funding, and research with real-world impacts” in this areaArigo, D. (Recipient)Franklin CThursday, March 14, 3:00 AM-3:50 PM
Meet the SBM CouncilsArigo, D. (Board of Directors Member as Outgoing Chair of the Membership Council)Room 401Thursday, March 14, 3:00 AM-3:50 PM
Tracy Orleans Distinguished Service Award, “in recognition of dedication and vast contributions to SBM as a member of the Board of Directors”Arigo, D. (Recipient)Presidential Keynote and Awards Ceremony, Salon G-HThursday, March 14, 4:00 PM-4:50 PM
Interaction Effects of Amotivation for Physical Activity and Fitness Social Media Exposure on Physical Activity IntentionsBerteletti, J., Arigo, D., & Nuss, K.Poster Session B, Poster Number: B148Thursday, March 14, 5:00 PM-5:50 PM
Personalized, Adaptive, Physical Activity-Based Social Comparisons: A Real-Time Test of the Identification/Contrast ModelArigo, D., Lapitan, E. (presenter), Bercovitz, I., Satish, A., & Lobo, A.F.Poster Session C, Poster Number: C55Thursday March 14, 5:00 PM-5:50 PM
Perceived impact of the menstrual cycle on the exercise experience: Qualitative analysis among menstruating womenSalvatore, G.M., Hutchinson, J., & Arigo, D.Poster Session C, Poster Number: C198Thursday, March 14, 5:00 PM-5:50 PM
Cardiovascular Disease SIG Founders Award, “granted in recognition of dedication to advancing research in cardiovascular behavioral medicine and reducing the public health burden of CVD through research, mentorship, leadership, and/or service”Arigo, D. (Recipient)Salon I-JFriday, March 15, 8:00 AM-8:50 AM
Understanding multilevel social and environmental influences on health behavior using mHealth/ technology-based approachesRehorst, C. (chair), Liao, Y., Maher, J.P., & Arigo, D. (discussant)Symposium 20, Salon K-LFriday, March 15, 9:00 AM-9:50 AM
Physical Activity Measurement Reactivity in an At-Risk Group: Coordinated Analysis across Two StudiesBaga, K., DeMeo, N.N., Mogle, J.A., & Arigo, D.Live Research Spotlight (flash talk), Franklin 3Friday, March 15th, 11:00 PM-11:50 PM
Pain Variability Over 10 Years among Midlife and Older AdultsBercovitz, I., DeMeo, N., Travers, L., Gular, S., & Arigo, D.Poster Session D; Poster Number: D2Friday March 15, 5:00 PM-5:50 PM
User-Centered Design of a Web App for Naloxone Use among Supporters of Adults with Opioid Prescriptions: A Mixed Methods StudyBercovitz, I., Baga, K., Travers, L., Rivera, A., Harsora, R. (presenter), Lobo, A.F., Ainsworth, C., Zhou, J., Jermyn, R., & Arigo, D.Poster Session D, Poster Number: D86Friday March 15, 5:00 PM-5:50 PM
Associations Between Exposure to Fitspiration, Body Positive, & Body Neutral Social Media and Physical Activity EngagementBerteletti, J., Arigo, D., & Nuss, K.Poster Session D, Poster Number: D148Friday, March 15, 5:00 PM-5:50 PM
Ecological Momentary Assessment of Sleep Quality, Stress, and Pain Experiences among Women in Midlife with Risk for CVD. In Gaffey, A.E. (chair), Sleep Health: An Essential Component of Cardiovascular Disease RiskArigo, D., Salvatore, G.M. (presenter), Bercovitz, I., & Gular, S.Symposium 28, Room 411-412Saturday, March 16, 9:00 AM-9:50 AM
Subjective Memory Problems, Individual Characteristics, and Social Comparison Tendencies among Midlife and Older AdultsJackson, D.A., Jeong, M., Salvatore, G.M., Arigo, D., & Mogle, J.Poster Session E, Poster Number: E4Saturday, March 16, 11:00 AM-11:50 AM
Understanding the selection of external support partners in a behavioral weight loss programCrane, N. T., Miller, N. A., Arigo, D., & Butryn, M. L.Poster Session E, Poster Number: E124Saturday, March 16, 11:00 AM-11:50 AM

Dr. Gabrielle Salvatore, Postdoctoral Research Fellow: “In addition to presenting a poster (as I have in the past), this year I had the exciting opportunity to give my first oral presentation at a national conference. The presentation was part of a larger symposium hosted by the SBM Cardiovascular Disease and Sleep Special Interest Groups (SIGs). I enjoyed presenting the results of secondary analyses from an ecological momentary assessment study, which I led with support from Dr. Arigo, Iris, and Sofia, as well as meeting the other presenters and learning about their areas of expertise. I also attended networking events and SIG business meetings, where I learned more about what service to this organization entails, as well as what relevant programming and opportunities align with my career goals. I look forward to getting more involved as a trainee member!”

Emmanuel Lapitan, First-Year Clinical Ph.D. Student: “I enjoyed my first time attending SBM and its various multidisciplinary sessions. It was very exciting to hear about the innovative research occurring in the behavioral medicine field. It was also a great pleasure to present my poster to the scientific community, support my lab mates during their presentations, spend time getting to know them as colleagues and friends. I also got to catch up with former colleagues and mentors from my old lab before Rowan.”

Kristen Pasko, Sixth-Year Clinical Ph.D. Student (on clinical internship at Geisinger Medical Center): “I was thrilled to return to SBM, particularly as I am wrapping up my internship year and finishing my doctoral program. In addition to presenting updated findings on a measurement reactivity project I was involved in with the lab across several years, I was also able to return with a new perspective after working full time across multiple specialty areas of behavioral medicine (I.e., primary care, weight and eating, cancer care, chronic pain). With the innovative, interdisciplinary focus across research presentations this year, I felt inspired to further explore my budding interests intersecting eating pathology and chronic pain. Additionally, I was immensely grateful to spend one final SBM as a doctoral student with the CHASE Lab.”

Raj Harsora, Postbacc Research Assistant: “As a first-time attendee to SBM this year, I found it really interesting to see the breadth and depth of research the field of behavioral medicine has to offer. Exploring the diverse set of topics shown in the conference exposed me to the complexities and the reach that behavioral medicine has on different communities. I also had the opportunity to present a poster about barriers to naloxone carrying and administration among primary supporters of adults who have opioid prescriptions. I found the experience very rewarding and enjoyable, as I got to have some very interesting conversations with different people in the field! I look forward to attending SBM again in the future and learning how I can be more involved in the goals of the organization in the coming years.”

Kiri Baga, Third-Year Clinical Ph.D. Student: “This year I had the opportunity to give a ‘flash talk’ about one of the major research projects in our lab. It was really exciting to share initial findings from our study on physical activity measurement reactivity and discuss the results with our collaborators at the conference. I also enjoyed spending time with our team, which has grown so much this past year. It was fun to catch up with everyone in person and celebrate our accomplishments as a group.”

Iris Bercovitz, Second-Year Clinical Ph.D. Student: “I had the wonderful experience of presenting a poster at SBM for the second time. I enjoyed sharing information about pain experiences among midlife and older adults as well as learning from experts in the field. I especially enjoyed the keynotes which highlighted the need for greater collaboration between ‘hard’ and ‘soft’ sciences. I look forward to attending SBM again in the future.”

Sofia Gular, Postbacc Lab Manager/Research Coordinator: “This was my first time attending SBM and presenting a poster at a national conference. Overall, I enjoyed the multidisciplinary nature of the conference and the opportunity to see the interaction of many different areas of research, such as physical activity, digital health, mental health, etc. I particularly enjoyed learning about the topic of health equity and how it’s addressed in many areas of research, and this has shaped the way I think about what it means to become a researcher. I am looking forward to attending next year and continuing to learn in order to make meaningful contributions to behavioral medicine.”

Daija Jackson, Psy.D. Research Assistant (on clinical internship at the Brooke Army Medical Center): “This was my first time attending SBM, and definitely won’t be my last! I was able to present a research poster highlighting one of my specific research and clinical interests (subjective cognitive complaints), and I was able to attend many symposia and panel discussions on research that is pushing behavioral medicine forward for many patient populations. It was also exciting to see a large military presence at this conference and hear about the amazing work my Department of Defense colleagues are doing to improve clinical care and outcomes for our service members and veterans. SBM provided a very inviting and inspirational environment to me as a new member and soon-to-be early career psychologist, and I look forward to being more involved with the organization in the future.”

Dr. Dani Arigo, CHASE Lab Director: “I’ve been a member of SBM and an attendee at the conference for about 15 years now, and I just finished my three-year term as a member of the Board of Directors. As great as all of these years have been, this year’s conference was really special. This is the largest group we’ve had representing the lab (9 team members attended), with presentations across as many projects. It was incredible to see the scope of the work we’re doing and its potential impact – both on the field and on team members’ professional development. I’m also grateful that our research received recognition from both the Cardiovascular Disease SIG and the Theories and Techniques of Behavior Change Interventions SIG, and that my service was recognized by SBM’s Board. I could not be more proud of what we’ve accomplished and I’m so glad we got to celebrate together at the conference.”

Leave a comment